Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

I learned a lot of things during my Undergraduate degree, and I am not going to list them all today. This is not going to be my ‘What I Have Learned So Far In My Life’ list (yep, I am that overbearing and keen that I keep a literal list like that (in the vein of Stefan Sagmeister, though, to be fair…) ). This week I officially convocate, so I thought I’d give a quick summary version of some important things that come to mind that I learned during my undergrad. You will go, or have gone, to Undergrad yourselves, you’ll learn the rest, whatever. I just wanted to give you a lil hint.

1. Here is proof that if you want to / have to learn something, you can actually find a way. You know where to look, you know who to ask, you’ve done it before.

2. Life is actually tough in the fast lane. Apply for things, hustle, don’t fall asleep.

3. (personal belief**) We must create our own meaning in our lives – our lives do not inherently have meaning.  We choose the meaning in our lives. Education is knowing that we can choose for something to mean something.

4. ‘Putting into action’ and ‘understanding’ are the values of study.

5. Most people don’t know what the eff they are talking about.  (in life, academically, etc.)  Take comfort in that.

6. Almost nothing is black and white. Pretty much nothing.

7.  Marks mostly don’t matter, but sometimes they do matter.  Invest your heart in the right place at the right time.

8. Consider the likelihood of returning home before midnight after a day of school.  Act accordingly.

9.  Become friends with really weird people, from different circles and walks of life, because they are just nice or cool or interesting.

10.  Think frequently and hard about what you actually want out of life: what you want your life to look and feel like, how much free time, how much family, how much money, and freedom, and work, long-term, and at each stage. You don’t have to know right now, but just think about it. Consider it and toy with it. And then try to make what you think is the best option happen. Do many, many multiples of iterations on this.

Note: I have chosen not to include any of the REAL life lessons you learn in college/uni (said drinking rules, social norms, how to sip 21 different liquids in the dining hall and then run to a different dining hall without vomiting… what? I never did that. Why would anyone try to do that?!) Have you ever seen the movie Meatballs? It is like that, except not at a fat camp and add all of the life lessons listed above. :)

Comments on: "What I Learned In Undergrad" (10)

  1. 2 and 3 are so epic. I definitely need to apply to more things, get involved with life.

    • I love your new picture! such cool glasses!
      Also, it took me a while to see stuff that people were doing and get ‘involved’. In high school I never really was into stuff and clubs, so it took a while to realize that in university they have clubs and groups that might actually appeal to me! Never too late, ever. :)

  2. Solid lessons all.

    It look me a long time to learn #6, but man oh man is it ever true.

  3. I love this so much! They are all so good. I want each of them written out in an artsy font with a dreamy background image and then organized on a pinterest board of Dayna wisdom!

    I know you didn’t include any REAL life lessons in this list, but I just had to add mine: Learning to eat alone (confidently!) in the cafeteria. Totally conquered that one!

  4. Dayna this is so spot on! Number 5 and 7 definitely hit home for me! The people I know who have graduated without learning these lessons are also the ones who are completely lost right now about what to do with their future. Completely agree the university is about so much more than academics.

    I second what Elana said about a Pinterest board of Dayna wisdom! Please add that to your to do list :)

    • Daph!! How are you? Thank you so much for commenting. I also love number 5 (I love all of them though, but I am totally biased, so I don’t know if that’s saying much), but I was surprised no one mentioned 5!

      Haha, deal! I will put quotes on my to do list (And I will PROBS blog it, so you will be sure to see them :) )

Leave a Reply

