Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

The Happy Show

Stefan Sagmeister (the graphic designer, who I’ve featured on the blog in the past…) brought his show, The Happy Show, to Toronto’s Design Exchange, and I am so freakin glad he did.  Stephan, if you are reading this, thanks dude.

Amazing, fun, fascinating, fresh, clean, branded, beauty. That’s it.  I wanted to bring my camera and take some pictures for the blog but I TOTALLY forgot. :(  BUT, here are some I’ve found around…

Untitled-1

I love how he clearly just did it how he wanted to do it.  There were some parts that were totally unrelated to the exhibit, for example the little display he had giving patrons his most favorite candy in the world!, were I felt that a Suit would totally want to shoot down. It was unrelated, but totally added to the whole thing because it brought me into his world just a little bit more, and the giving, friendly spirit of the exhibit definitely aided in the message: What makes us happy? and make sure you leave this exhibit happy / inspired!

thehappyshow1,feb142013IMAGES: here // here

Here are some ‘Life Lessons’ from his book and exhibition:

“Trying to look good limits my life.”

“Having Guts always works out for me.”

“Assumptions are stifling.”

“Seek Discomfort.”

If you are in the Toronto area, I highly recommend you check it out! It will be running until March 3rd! Also, check out this article or the Design Exchange website to hear more. NOTE: They are defs not paying me to write this. I wish.)  I highly recommend you all check out his TED talks( here, here and here), AND his book.

Comments on: "The Happy Show" (1)

  1. […] up inflatable art installations.  He does projects that seem crazy – take a year off work to explore new ideas, even though business is FINALLY going well (Maybe my clients will just leave me?! Maybe I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

