Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

I have loved Maya Hayuk’s work for quite a while. Even though the geometric, neon-y, graphic shapes thing is kinda trendy right now, she has actually been doing it for quite a long time, AND she does it really, really well.  She choses ways to present her work on surfaces or in ways wherein the contrast is actually really beautiful and where it accentuates her piece.  I think that in the way she presents it, it is really not a trend at all.  Its feels so much more honest than so many of the other geometric artwork pieces I’ve seen, and her use of color is PHEnominal.


Images from: here // here

Also, having my blog called ‘Kaleidoscope Brain’ DUH of course I’m into her!  Maya Hayuk: if you ever want to make me a piece go right ahead.  I’m thinking I would love it.


Images: here // here // here


Images: here // here  // here // here // here

The first time I ever heard about her was from the Etsy Handmade Portrait video that featured her and her work, and I really recommend giving it a watch. All the videos in the Handmade Portrait videos are amazing, but this one is one of my favorites, and is one I have watched over and over.

Comments on: "Art Installation: Maya Hayuk barn piece" (2)

  1. I just love the contrast between the vivid colors and that rusty old building.

Leave a Reply

