Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

I’m not so great with super subtle, white-to-black, multiple shades of grey blending (not fifty. never fifty.) on my palate yet, so in my portrait things are defs a bit color-blocked.  Although I’d like to have done it intentionally if I’m gonna do it (instead of just because I suck at blending on a palate). Nevertheless, I quite like the effect.  (By the way, excuse: it is so hard to tell the real color while its wet! especially when dealing with the subtleties of a mono-chrom painting!) The shading the lower cheek area has some issues, but nonetheless I love how realistic and intentional, yet cartoon-y, she looks.  She is in the damn  bright sunlight. :)  And she is fierce.  With the craps-ton of shading, you can really see how powerfully the sun was hitting her, and how powerfully she, amazon princess, hits it back!

Are you a fan of the overt-color blocking? Like Obama-poster-esque?  Except in painting..

Barack Obama Poster, New York

Barack Obama Poster, New York (Photo credit: racoles)

I kinda like the effect.  Also, for some reason my painting totally reminds me of this famous self-portrait by Frida Kahlo:

Frida Kahlo, Self-Portrait, 1940. See discussi...

Frida Kahlo, Self-Portrait, 1940. See discussion of her works below. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s something about black and white color-blocking that makes me think that, if it was in colors, they’d be SUPER bright colors, like in this painting. Also, the eyebrows in mine and in Frida Kahlo’s are totally mint!  Agree? Disagree? HATE that I besmirched Frida by associating her with my painting? Let me know in the comments, if you feel like it. :)

Comments on: "Portrait of A Lady (Not the Novel. Literally.)" (2)

  1. blazingal said:

    WOW your Portrait of a Lady looks really fantastic to me. You have all the semblances of a full on drawing but yet more details would be unnecessary. LOVE IT! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

