Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

I was going to write about hatching today. All the romances of using cross hatching, and shading, and how it adds grit and depth.  And blah, blah. And ‘look at my portraiture drawing!’

But, I just read a post that Swiss Miss did (Tina Roth Eisenberg) about the 15 things to learn from the Eames’, and I needed to share it.  I love the Eames’ (Eames’s? Eames? Eames’?).  Their work, their workplace environment (so open and weird, even though it was the freakin 60’s), their colors, their personalities, their home, their ideologies, their funny marriage and how they worked together. [Awesome documentary]  These 15 points are so important to me, and I hope I never ever, forget them.  Every point is essential, as a human and as a future designer. I hope when reading them, you guys totally read them slowly, too :)

The 15 Things Charles and Ray Eames Teach Us

01. Keep good company
02. Notice the ordinary
03. Preserve the ephemeral
04. Design not for the elite but for the masses
05. Explain it to a child
06. Get lost in the content
07. Get to the heart of the matter
08. Never tolerate “O.K. anything.”
09. Remember your responsibility as a storyteller
10. Zoom out
11. Switch
12. Prototype it
13. Pun
14. Make design your life… and life, your design.
15. Leave something behind.

(Taken from this whole essay, here.)

Anything to add to the list? Thoughts? Please leave comments below!

P.s.: get excited! Because hopefully sometime soon, I will have completed this art project I have been planning on doing for MONTHS! And, I’m just gonna be real: I think its seriously going to be awesome and I really hope it turns out the way I picture it in my mind…

P.p.s.: About hatching: You’ve just gotta practice hatching a lot, I think.  It is SUPER important for industrial design sketches and really good to have a handle on for all types of shading. Also, remember that hatching is meant to indicated existing planes, and the hatching direction can indicate ‘plane direction’, so be careful when you chose the angle of your hatching lines!

Leave a Reply

