Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

Ross Lovegrove is probably one of my favorite industrial designers of all time.  And since I am currently moving towards devoting my life to ID, that is saying a lot.  That is saying that this man get’s my raison d’etre.

“Inspired by the logic and beauty of nature his design possess a trinity between technology, materials science and intelligent organic form, creating what many industrial leaders see as the new aesthetic expression for the 21st Century. There is always embedded a deeply human and resourceful approach in his designs, which project an optimism, and innovative vitality in everything he touches from cameras to cars to trains, aviation and architecture.” (quote found here.)


What I love about Ross Lovegrove and his work, is his idealism and his refusal to compromise the need for an absolute harmony in his designs.  All the components of his design not only work well together, but often work so harmoniously that they are co-dependent.  The idea of a product working cyclically as a result of the dependancy of different components, is an elegant design to me.  When the product assembly, product materials, the usage of the product, the purpose/s of the product, etc. all work to bring the design in the same direction, it is totally miraculous.   Although his ultra-minimalistic, all-white/grey aesthetic is not personally my taste, his process, ideology and final products are still the closest to what I aspire for myself in my designs.  They are crazy awesome!  No moment of realization is better than that eureka moment, when a design or use-ability of a product comes from an obvious place to create a more accessible end product.

He considers himself to be an organic essentialist, and his work is often nature-influenced.  In a great interview he did with designboom, he said,

I’m an evolutionary biologist, more than a designer.
I don’t know what design is anymore, I create form,
I understand form and I’m enjoying the digital age to create it.
I’m hoping to push that even further. my work also relates to nature,
in an evolutionary sense as I’m concerned with reduction.
I exercise what is called ‘organic essentialism’ which means using
nothing more – nothing less than is needed.
I feel comfortable in this organic, isomorphic, anthropomorphic,
liquid age of making things, but I try not to force it into things that
don’t need it.

 

His advice for students:

‘stay positive whatever happens’ because people like positive
people. have stamina, this job is very demanding.
you are always busy (that can be a good thing though, if you
like what you do).
try to remain individual and don’t copy others.
to begin with it’s okay – as a point of reference – but then try
to move on. watch out for a corner of this earth and make it your
own, do something that has relevance, that ‘has legs’ and
can go forward.
also, think about good environmental solutions.
we are going to go through a new industrial revolution of sorts
at some point, because we can’t keep using resources the
way that we have.


I first heard about Ross Lovegrove years ago from this TED talk he did. Seriously, if you are a design nerd like me, watch it.

(photos from here, here, here, here, here, here, here.)

Leave a Reply

