Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.


I used a ‘new medium’ today – black, lovely, smooth gel ink – and as you can see, it turned out a bit shaky. But I like it, despite. It looks a bit hipster and the proportions are quite off, but I love how you can totally tell exactly what it is, and can picture the shine and gloss on the glass in your head (at least I can). It looks real, yet surrealistic. (Which has nothing to do with Jefferson Airplane’s Surrealistic Pillow, but for some reason that is a phrase I thought of and couldn’t get out of my head.) Def’s must improve skills though.

Anyway, I also like the drawing because I feel like I can also see all kinds of things inside that drawing. Like a swamp, or the trunk of a weeping willow, or icicles, or draped fabric.
Think about this. What do you see in my cup? What do you see that is unintended and weird (totally something that could not have been an intended metaphor) in a famous work of art? What are your real-life Rorschach inkblots? (Post in the comments below.)

Example: the holes in the chair of the dogs kinda create a weird face. Like the two holes are eyes, and the one hole below is a mouth going ‘Ooooh’.


Photo found here.

Lol, wow. And that concludes this intellectual post!

Future goals for postings:

1) Include different media!

[ 2) Include somethin’ physical. …. .. Sculpture! Heck YA! ]

Every time I hear ‘Heck YA’ I think of Napoleon Dynamite. Real (, suburban, North American) life. Real life.

Comments on: "Surrealistic Glass (Cup/Occasional Vase)" (2)

  1. COOLPERSON said:

    Though I saw the vase instantly when I looked again it looked like patterns in wood to me. Cool drawing but here is a snobby tip from an amatuer: Try to work on perspective, it will really give your drawings a more 3D feel.

Leave a Reply

