Art, process and design blog of an aspiring industrial designer.

One of my dream jobs (that I will land in the near future..) is doing display design for Anthropologie. I think that store (umm, I should say religion…) is miles ahead in that regard. They’ve had the most inventive, brand-relevant display designs for years.  It strengthens the styling of their products within the store tenfold, in my opinion. You feel cool and individual and arty and interesting and cute just entering that place.  Its like I half expect Michelle Williams or somebody to walk past me on my way out.

I’ve featured Anthropologie’s display design on the blog before, but I have researched so many of their displays (and they are so fabulous) that I feel that they warrant individual posts. For the same reason why I love The Office or Flash Mobs, the display designers at Anthropologie make the everyday, ubiquitous, boring and annoying items fascinating and romantic. The really quiet, unassuming items.  Paper and cups and cardboard and 2×4’s and forks and cupcake liners.  I also love that they don’t ‘repurpose’ these materials because they’re making a statement about the environment. Nope, they do it because they’re available or cheap or just the shape they wanted.  To me, its like the designers are inspired by the crappy garbage items they choose to use.  I freaking love that.  That is catnip for me.

Here are some winter-related (even though its June) pictures for you:

anthropologie1a,june7-2013anthropologie1b,june7-2013anthropologie1c,june7-2013

IMAGES: green circles, winter wonderlandmarshmallows, winter paper hangings.
ornament window, milk carton igloo, snowball bike.
window full of fluff.

Great anthropologie display design image sources: www.warymeyers.com , plentyofcolor.com , anthropologie+you flickr, pinterest.com.

Comments on: "Anthropologie Display and Store Design Part I" (2)

  1. I can see where your love is comin’ from. Those displays are a feast for the eyes.

Leave a comment